CEDAW Women's Rights Treaty: Fact Sheet

Download this fact sheet (PDF)

The United Nations Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) is the most complete international agreement on basic human rights for women and was adopted by the United Nations (UN) General Assembly in 1979. To date, 185 countries have ratified CEDAW. Even though the U.S. helped draft the treaty, it is the only industrialized country left to ratify.

Read the treaty here.

Why It's Important

What CEDAW Has Helped Achieve In Other Countries

What the Senate Must Do: Ratify Women!

CEDAW can be ratified with a two-thirds majority of the Senate (at least 67 votes). Women have already waited 30 years. Demand President Obama and the Senate RATIFY WOMEN! by prioritizing and passing CEDAW without restrictions.

Donate | Home

RATIFY WOMEN! is a campaign of the National Organization for Women.
Learn more about NOW

Copyright 2009-2012, All rights reserved. Permission granted for non-commercial use.